growing up

“I hope your dreams take you…to the corners of your smiles, to the highest of your hopes, to the windows of your opportunities, and to the most special places your heart has ever known.” ~ Anonymous

I’m feeling so overwhelmed this week. If I stop for just one moment, I know there will be no stopping my tears.

Why? Because it is becoming all too clear that my baby girl is growing up…and I can’t stand it.

I feel like I’m on the verge of a tremendous tantrum. I want to kick and hit and scream at the top of my lungs: “Stop it! Stop this growing nonsense RIGHT NOW!!”

So very mature of me, don’t you think?

This week is the last week of preschool. Today, I volunteered at the school for the very last time. I took every bit of every moment in. From helping out with the blue finger painting project to watching the kids in my daughter’s class show off their various scars and “owies” to listening to the tiny voices singing their thank-you-for-the-food song. It was a very special day.

In the fall, my husband and I will officially become the parents of a kindergartener.

Everything is about to change (and you all know how much I love change). She’s growing up. My son is growing up, too. It’s more than apparent that I no longer have babies in my house. How did this happen? Where did the time go?

The glory of it is that I have been lucky enough to hold their hands through all of this growing up stuff. They are two amazing little beings. They are genuinely kind, sweet, and SO smart. They are healthy and happy. And I couldn’t be prouder.

This week marks yet another milestone for my little girl. As hard as it is to embrace the change of things to come, I’m so looking forward to being a part of it.

Congrats on progressing to the next level, Miss E! You rocked this preschool thing!

~ by hpiazza on 06/07/2011.

Leave a Reply

 
